1 Nephi

1 Nephi 1

Good Morning!  This week in class, we are studying 1 Nephi 1-5.  I can’t even begin to share with you how excited I am to be in a class that is not only allowing me to study His gospel and gain more understanding, but that they are teaching me how to study too!  How many of us can reflect back at our schooling years and know with out a doubt that school or a teacher taught us how to study, and not just one way, but several?

This week, I am working on learning to study with a skill called “setting study skill.”  As we read, we can ask the questions Who? When? and Where?  Here are my thoughts on the first chapter in the Book of Mormon.  I am looking forward to learning other study method skills… wish I would have started this up last week and had the chance to write about that skill set, but perhaps I will get back to in the future weeks.

Please, let me know if you have any thoughts on my understanding and concepts.  I have also shared my favorite scripture out of the chapter and why it is my favorite.

1 Nephi 1:

Who? Nephi, Lehi, God, Jesus Christ, 12 apostles, inhabitants of Jerusalemfaith

When? First year of Zedekiah (about 600 BC)

Where? Jerusalem,

Favorite Verse: 20: “And when the Jews heard these things they were angry with him; yea, even as with prophets of old, whom they had cast out, and stoned, and slain; and they also sought his life, that they might take it away. But behold, I, Nephi, will show unto you that the tender mercies of the Lord are over all those whom he hath chosen, because of their faith, to make them mighty even unto the power of deliverance.”

Each of us is one that the Lord has chosen, if it were not so, we would not be here today on the earth. Each of us were chosen by the Lord to have been given bodies and allowed to come to this mortal state. This alone shows that each of us has faith, and because of this faith, each of us can be made mighty unto the power of deliverance, whatever it may be that we need to be delivered from.

Lovingly,

Samantha

Standard

2 thoughts on “1 Nephi 1

    • Brandi,
      Perhaps this is my interpretation. In verse 10, it states “And he also saw twelve others following him, and their brightness did exceed that of the stars in the firmament.”

      I am trying to include everyone that is in the text in my study skill. Does this answer your question?

      Thank you for your feedback!
      Samantha

      Like

Leave a Reply

