1 Nephi

1 Nephi 2

Good Morning. First thing first: Happy Birthday to my baby girl today!  She is 3!  It is always exciting to have a family member celebrate the beginning of a new year.  I pray hers is full of joy.

Here is my next chapter study in the Book of Mormon.  1 Nephi 2.  Here we read that Lehi has lead his family into the wilderness as directed by God.  As he does so, his two older sons Laman and Lemuel begin to murmur and rebel against their father and God.  They are certainly behaving as if they are of the world and they long to go back to Jerusalem where they believe they can live a more comfortable and luxurious life.  Lehi then speaks to them in such a way that they were confounded.

I looked the word confounded up in the dictionary, because as we read scripture, sometimes word mean something different today than they did when the scriptures were written long ago.  I wanted to be sure that this was not one of them.  So, in other words, Lehi spoke to his sons in such a way that they were amazed too the point where they did not dare speak against their father and they did as he said.

This chapter goes on to tell Nephi talked to his third elder brother, Sam, and Sam did believe what Nephi had to say because Nephi was filled with the Holy Ghost.  Laman and Lemuel continued to harden their hearts and Nephi was sorrowful because of their choices.

Nephi then receives a blessing from the Lord for his faithfulness.  The Lord promises Nephi that as he keeps the commandments, he will be led to a land of promise that he shall be made a ruler and a teacher over his brothers.  Furthermore, the Lord gives warning to Nephi’s brothers and warns them to behave and follow the commandments given.

1 Nephi 2:
Who? God, Lehi, Sariah, Laman Lemuel, Sam, merciful
When? About 600 BC
Where? Jerusalem, the wilderness in the borders nearer the Red Sea, valley of Lemuel, River of Laban,
My favorite verse: 1 Nephi 2:16: “And it came to pass that I, Nephi, being exceedingly young, nevertheless being large in stature, and also having great desires to know the mysteries of God, therefore, I did cry unto the Lord; and behold he did visit me, and did soften my heart that I did believe all the words which had been spoken by my father; wherefore, I, did not rebel against him like unto my brothers.”

As I read this verse, I thought of my childhood, and of my children today. I thought, wow, if I only must say a prayer to rid my heart of these thoughts of rebellion. Whether it be rebellion against traffic or rebellion against fiery darts, I must only say a prayer to have my heart softened. I pray that my children will learn, that I may teach my children that they must only cry unto the Lord so that they do not rebel as Laman and Lemuel did.

I think that many of us as grown adults rebel everyday. We rebel against Heavenly Father through small acts, like not reading our scriptures or getting too busy to say prayer.  We choose to ignore small laws of the land and roll through a stop sign or not use our blinkers when making a turn.  And there are those of us out there that make other choices that are much harder to turn away from.   We see rebellion all around us in this world that is falling apart.  We see horrific crimes being committed, we see acts of terrorism and open hatred of other humans.  All of these things, great and small are works of the adversary in our lives.  We all make choices and yes, we have to live with them, but we can all choose Jesus Christ to be the center of our lives.  It is not always easy, but it certainly is worth it.  I testify to you, that as I have put Jesus Christ in to the center of my life, and as I have made this my focus, my life is more complete and certainly less hectic.  Blessings have been bestowed upon me and my family.  I have gained personal knowledge and spiritual growth.  I know that as I continue to have a Christ centered life, that I will continue to grow and learn.  I pray that each of you reading, takes just a moment today, to say a prayer to Heavenly Father in the name of Jesus Christ that He will help you to put Him in the center of your life.

Lovingly,

Samantha

Standard

One thought on “1 Nephi 2

Leave a Reply

