1 Nephi

1 Nephi 3

Moving right along here.  I am still working on the setting study skill set as you can see below. A little background on this entry:  Brother Day is my instructor through BYU-Idaho. Here is a quick snap shot of what 1 Nephi 3 has to share:

1 Nephi 3:

Who? Nephi, the Lord, Lehi, Laban, Laman, Lemuel, Sam, servants of Laban, an angel of the Lord,

When? Sometime between 600 BC and 592 BClove.1

Where? Wilderness, Jerusalem, Laban’s house, cavity of a rock,

My favorite verse: I don’t know that I would have caught this on my own, but as I watched the lesson videos for this week, Brother Day (at least I believe that it was Brother Day) pointed out that verse 14 states: “But Laman fled out of his presence, and told the things which Laban had done, unto us. And we began to be exceedingly sorrowful, and my brethren were about to return unto my father in the wilderness.”

I love that this points out that Nephi, being as strong and faithful as he was, was yet sorrowful for their failures alongside his brothers. What we learn after though, is that Nephi continues in his faith and willingness to follow the commandment given, where his brothers are ready to pack up and go back to Lehi empty-handed.

This post is dedicated to Brother Day, as he helped me see this and learn. I love to learn and am so very thankful for the Pathway program and all of those that dedicate their time to teaching.

Lovingly,

Samantha

Standard

Leave a Reply

