1 Nephi

Where is the question

Good morning again.  Before the week ends, I wanted to come back and write a quick post for my readers and for myself for historical purposes.  This week, I attended my gathering for BYU-Idaho Pathway on Thursday evening.  At this gathering, I meet with peers from the local geographical area that are also enrolled in the Pathway program and we discuss the teachings of the week.

The second hour of our gathering, we discuss our religion course.  As you have read in other posts, we are focusing on the Book of Mormon, more specifically, the first half of the book of Mormon.  This week we were assigned 1 Nephi 1-5, to which you can read my other posts.  I wanted to tell you a little bit about this week’s gathering and the insight that I gained.

Who, when, and where were the focus of my setting study skill this week, so as I read those five chapters I was documenting the answer to these questions.  I thought it was pretty straight forward, as you can see in those posts.  But are they?  I learned in gathering from a great and knowledgeable man, Johnny, that who is the only question that is straight forward.  You can really dig into the when and the where.  There is more meat.  Let’s take a look at what we focused on in class:

1 Nephi 2:1 “For behold, it came to pass the Lord spake unto my father, yea, even in a dream, and said unto him: Blessed art thou Lehi, because of the things which thou hast done; and because thou hast been faithful and declared unto this people the things which I commanded thee, behold, they seek to take away thy life.”

We talked about this one scripture for over half an hour, and I think we could have kept on if we weren’t short on time.

Who? Lehi and the Lord.

When?

  • 600 BC, at night
  • during Lehi’s sleep
  • During a tumultuous time for Lehi (he is preaching repentance to Jews who are angry with him for this)
  • Mid-life for Lehi (Sariah is still in child-bearing years)

Where?  Lehi

  • In Jerusalem
  • In Lehi’s home
  • In Lehi’s bed
  • In a dream
  • In a highly spiritual state of mind (Lehi is in such a spiritual state, that the Lord comes to him)
  • In a terrible time (Lehi is preaching repentance to Jews who want to kill him)

I am so very thankful to have had the opportunity to attend gathering this week and to be a part of BYU-Idaho Pathway program so that I can continue to have my mind enlightened and my horizons broadened.  How great is the Lord and the blessings that He bestows upon us each and every day.  I pray that each of you stopping here to read has the opportunity to gain a bit of insight as you read, study and ponder the scriptures and then see what you may learn.  How many times have you read that one single verse?  Did you think of all of these places that Lehi was?  How much more is hidden in the scriptures that we have yet to ponder and discover for ourselves.  Read, study and ponder.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

One thought on “Where is the question

  1. Pingback: 1 Nephi 15 | pathwaytohiskingdom

Leave a Reply

