1 Nephi

1 Nephi 6

As I wrote yesterday, this week we will be finding principles and doctrine from studying this week.  I will share what I have found, and if you find others, please share them with me!  As the Elder Richard G Scott stated and the cover photo shows “Power comes from scriptural doctrine.”  I would love insights that any of you have!

Verse 2: “We are descendants of Joseph.”

  • This is doctrine, an unchanging truth.

Verse 5: “Wherefore, the things which are pleasing unto the world I do not write, but the things which are pleasing unto God and unto those who are not of the world.”

  • Using the “therefore what?” method…. therefore Nephi wrote only those things which are pleasing to God and unto all people who are not of the world and we today, are blessed with his writings in the Book of Mormon.

Verse 6: “Wherefore, I shall give commandment unto my seed, that they shall not occupy these plates with things which are not of worth unto the children of men.”

  • Using the “thus we see” method: thus we see that Nephi commanded those that have possession of the plates after him to only write the things which are worthy of human kind to read and know of the truths of God while here upon this earth.  Nephi and his seed wrote only those things which are needed for us to know in these last days for the saving of souls.

I was really surprised when looking for principles and doctrine in this chapter as the chapter is only six verses long, I never expected that half of them were filled with principle and doctrine.  Did you find any others that I missed or do the ones that I found spark your interest at all?  Let me know. Chapter 7 is next!

Lovingly,

Samantha

Standard

Leave a Reply

