1 Nephi

1 Nephi 9

What can we learn in six short verses?  We learn that Nephi kept two sets of plates.  The large plates of Nephi have the history of the people and for “more part of the reign of the kings and wars and contentions” 1 Nephi 9:4.  The small plates of Nephi are for “the special purpose that there should be an account engraven of the ministry of my people” 1 Nephi 9:3.

You may be asking “what does this have to do with doctrine and principle?”  My answer is nothing, but I didn’t want my blog post to be super extra short.

As I was going through this chapter, I only found one verse that spoke to me as principle or doctrine and that is verse 6. “But the Lord knoweth all things from the beginning; wherefore, he prepareth a way to accomplish all his works among the children of men; for behold, he hath all power unto the fulfilling of all his words. And thus it is. Amen.”

Break it down (you can sing if you want): “the Lord knoweth all things from the beginning.”  This is an unchanging truth; a gospel doctrine.

“He prepareth a way to accomplish all his works among the children of men.” Doctrine or Principle?  I think that this is a principle because anyone can take this and apply it to different aspects of life.  Everything that we do, is a part of His plan.  He knows what choices we will make, therefore, the way that He has prepared, his works will be accomplished.

“He hath all power unto the fulfilling of all his words.”  I know that Heavenly Father has immense power.  He has shown His power to many prophets, both in times of old and modern day.  I know that He has control of our world and only He has the power to ensure that all of his words are indeed fulfilled.

“And thus it is. Amen.”  When I first read this sentence, I read it as “this is the end of the chapter.” I read it again though.  Now, I see this as eternal truth.  I put some feeling into it.  And thus it is…. thus “He knoweth all things from the beginning;” thus “He prepareth a way to accomplish all his works among the children of men;” thus “he hath all power unto the fulfillings of all his words. Amen.”

And thus it is and I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

