1 Nephi

1 Nephi 14

Are you getting bored with all these doctrines and principles?  I am, but this is the last chapter on this specific topic for a while, I will certainly revisit is, as I have found this tremendously helpful.  I will try to be as brief as I can, so there may be a lot of shorthand or less explanation in this post that you have seen in others, please forgive me as I try to get my studies done for the week and enjoy General Conference with my family this weekend.

exterior-lds-conference-center-260863-galleryAs with chapter 14, we are still learning of the Gentiles and what Nephi sees in his vision of these people (us.)

In verse 2 we receive a promise that if we do not harden our hearts against Jesus Christ, that we will be among Christ’s people and will be blessed.  A principle that we can apply in every aspect of our mortal lives.

Verse 3 teaches that those men that helped Satan to build up the great and abominable church (see this post,) will be filled by those people that helped him build it.  The great and abominable church is referred to as a great pit.  I believe that this is doctrine.

Verse 4 reads: “For behold, this is according to the captivity of the devil, and also according the the justice of God, upon all those who will work wickedness and abomination before him.” This is an eternal law that Heavenly Father has put into place for those that choose to serve the devil.

Verse 5 gives us a little more of the same, but also includes a warning to every man.  We must repent in order to save our souls, we must choose to follow Christ. Another eternal law and doctrine of the gospel.

Verse 10 I struggle with at times.  While I know that my prayers have been answered and the Holy Ghost has whispered to me that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is indeed the true church of Jesus Christ on the earth today, I struggle with the facts stated simply here by God’s angel: “Behold there are save two churches only; the one is the church of the Lamb of God, and the other is the church of the devil; wherefore, whoso belongeth not to the church of the Lamb of God belongeth to that great church, which is the mother of abominations; and she is the whore of all the earth.” What does this mean of my friends and family who are of other faiths?  I know that they will have their chance, and that they will have the opportunity after their mortal existence to choose the right, but I still struggle. This is an eternal law, it is plainly stated; clear and concise.

Verses 12 through 16 do not really contain principle or doctrine, but it certainly can allow one to reflect upon the state of our world today.

Verse 17 proclaims that when God pours out his wrath upon Satan over the earth, it is on this day that His work shall begin.  It is this day that He will begin to fulfill his covenants to those in the House of Israel.  Doctrine.

Verses 21 through 24 explains that the apostle John will come and write about the things which will happen at the end of the world. Furthermore, the things which John tells about are true.  John’s writings about this can be found in the book of Revelation, but please keep in mind the warning from verse 23, the things that John wrote were plain and pure and easy for men to understand and that this occurred prior to the Bible being passed through the great and abominable church.  Doctrine.

I love verse 26. “And also others who have been, to them hath he shown all things, and they have written them; and they are sealed up to come forth in their purity, according to the truth which is in the Lamb, in the own due tome of the Lord, unto the house of Israel.”  Nephi was with the angel seeing all of this happen sometime between the year 600 BC and 592 BC.  In the year 1827, 2,419-2,427 years later, the Book of Mormon is retrieved from being sealed up.  This certainly counts for “others who have been… and they have written them.” Are there yet other accounts out there, on a small remote island waiting for someone to be directed to find them?  Food for thought, or at least something else that I have thought.  Doctrine, again.

I like principles and doctrine study.  It is fun to find them in the scriptures and even better to find them when you know what they really mean.  I enjoy principles more because I can apply them to myself, but doctrine is just as important and there are certainly more of them throughout the scriptures than there are principles.  I pray that each of you have a blessed day or night and that you get a chance to watch General Conference this weekend.  You can click here to watch a live broadcast Saturday October 3, 2015 at 10:00 am Mountain time, again at 3:00 pm Mountain time and the same times on Sunday October 4, 2015.  Thanks for enduring through this week of posts with me.  I think that I am writing to myself, but Heavenly Father knows my purpose and if writing to myself is it, then so be it. I write this (to myself) in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

