FDREL 121

Putting it all together; L03 FDREL 121

Perhaps to some of you, this blog post may be arbitrarily random, but it really is not.  I started this post a few weeks ago, to have a running journal of the scripture studies that I do for my Fundamentals of Religion- Book of Mormon Part 1.  This post is an assignment added onto my regular journaling (did you know journaling isn’t really a word?) of my studies.    The directions for this weeks assignment is to follow Elder David A. Bednar’s invitation to share the gospel online.  I believe that I have been working on this all week, so, please feel free to browse all of my other posts from this week, they are:

So, along with what I have been sharing about visualizing the scriptures this week, I would like to share with each of you a little of what I have learned this week, from attending the gathering of Pathway students that I attended, from studying scriptures, and most of all from the Holy Ghost.

I have learned this week that diligent daily prayer and scripture study go a long way.  If you are LDS, then you have heard the term line upon line; precept upon precept, and this is how I am learning this week.  Elder David A Bednar said in his talk “The Spirit of Revelation” that it is most common that we receive answers from Heavenly Father through the Spirit line upon line and precept upon precept.  The idea of line upon line, precept upon precept is that we will understand a little bit and as we grow we will understand a little bit more.  I liken it unto parenting.  As we first become parents, we know so very little, no matter how much advise we have been given or how many books we have read.  But when that third child comes around and the baby is gagging on breast milk or formula, we don’t panic like we did with the first baby.  We have learned that the baby will work it out, when they are learning to walk, we don’t panic as they take a tumble.  We have learned that they will figure it out.  It is like this for us learning from Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father.  We learn a little at a time and when we understand and apply what we have learned in our life Heavenly Father will teach us a little bit more through the Holy Ghost.   And as President James E Faust said in his talk “Did you get the right message?” we need to be sure that we are tuned in to listen to the Holy Ghost so that we can take action to what He is directing us to or not to do.

I learned from gathering this week, that I “need not fear,”  is what Elder Dallin H Oaks said in his talk “Learning and Latter-day Saints.”  I was lead student this week, which means that I lead my peers in a discussion and conversations regarding this weeks topic in my life skills class.  I read this talk several times over the course of the week, but I did not really think that I was afraid, until Thursday morning when my stomach was queasy and I was a hot mess.   I read Elder Oaks’ message again, and then I prayed.  By late afternoon, I finally felt prepared to teach and when I stood in front of my peers, that fear fled me and I was at peace.  We had a great discussion and I feel that I delivered the message well.

And last, but most certainly not least, I learned from the Holy Ghost this week.  I am so thankful to have Him in my life to guide and direct me.  I am working on a project for this course and am working on learning how to become more charitable.  The Holy Ghost spoke to me several times this week as my husband and I were faced with a difficult moment between he and I and two other big issues with one of our daughters.  I learned to be patient and to be kind.  I experienced these bumps in the road in a completely different light than I had ever experienced challenges before.  I wrapped my arms around my husband and our daughter and we talked quietly and we shared gospel stories and principles to help us work through what was presented to us.  I am so very grateful to be learning and growing and turning into a true disciple of Jesus Christ.

Remember, to be a disciple we must follow for the express purpose of learning. So, we must follow Christ in order to learn.  Through Jesus Christ, all things are possible.  Our scriptures tell us so, and I know that if you are struggling with anything in your life, if you get on your knees and humbly ask Heavenly Father to help you, that He will do so.   And I leave this bit of my testimony with you in this blog post, in the name of our Savior, Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

