2 Nephi

2 Nephi 6

Okay, as I had previously posted, I struggle with understanding the writing of Isaiah.  I struggle putting his thoughts into concepts that I can wrap my brain around.  I get confused and lost with his writings.  I may still, but now, I have a little bit more insight from a great instructor.  As we approach more writings from Isaiah, I highly encourage you to read the post that I re-blogged titled “Nephi’s use of Isaiah in the Book of Mormon” written by Brother Mike Day for his sight ldsscriptureteachings.org.  As I dig deeper into understanding scriptures, I find myself gravitating to Brother Day’s website for guidance, as he is full of encouragement and knowledge.

As I approached 2 Nephi 6, I had my purple scripture pencil ready for all of these flag phrases that I am working off of this week.  Jacob, Nephi’s younger brother is the speaker in this chapter and at first glance, I thought the flag phrase to verse ration was low, but truly, it is not.  I found 21 flag phrases and there are 18 verses. Let’s get started:

Verse 2: “Behold,” as I’ve previously posted, this could read “stop, pay attention.”  Jacob tells us that he has been called of God and ordained by Nephi and he recognizes that he has spoken many things to the people of Nephi.  In verse 3: “Nevertheless” or in other words “even though I have spoken many things to you, I need you to keep listening because I want to make sure that your souls are good to go.”  Jacob has great anxiety over the welfare of the souls of the people of Nephi.  I know that I worry and have concern for the welfare of some people’s souls, and that there are a few people that I worry about a great deal, but I do not believe (other than 1 soul) that I could say that I have great anxiety over the welfare of the souls of an entire community.  Where do you fit in here?  Does President Monson have great anxiety over the welfare of the souls of all members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints?

Jacob then says that he is going to read to the people from Isaiah and that he reads this to them so that they “may learn and glorify the name of your God.”  When you read scriptures, is your purpose to learn and glorify the name of God? I know that when I study (not just read) that my purpose is to learn, but I don’t know that my purpose at heart was to glorify God, and now I know that it should be…..

Jacob tells us in verse 5 that he is sharing the words of Isaiah with us so that we may be able to apply the words to ourselves and “many things which have been spoken by Isaiah which may be likened unto you, because ye are of the house of Israel.”  We are of the house of Israel, therefore what Isaiah has to say, is applicable to our lives.

In verse 8, Jacob begins to decipher Isaiah for the people of Nephi and explains that the people of Jerusalem were either killed or taken captive and even though this happened,  the people will return to Jerusalem one day.

Jacob continues in verse 9 to share with us that he has seen that Jesus Christ will manifest himself to the people of Jerusalem and that the Messiah will be scourged and crucified.  In verse 10, Jacob states that after the people that have crucified him harden their hearts against Jesus Christ, that they judgements of Israel will come upon them and that they will be “smitten and afflicted.”  I know that I do not want to be included in this particular smiting and affliction.

Verse 11 starts with the flag phrase “wherefore.” In other words, because of the peoples hardened hearts and the afflictions that have come unto them, they will be afflicted in the flesh and driven to and for but will not die.  What a horrible suffering.  Jacob tells us, that even though these judgements will come to them, that Jesus Christ will still be merciful to them when they “come to the knowledge of their Redeemer.”  Hope, there is hope for everyone.  I pray that each person will come to the knowledge of their Redeemer so that they may save themselves from these plagues.

This chapter continues and Jacob uses very plain language for all to understand.  Those that fight against Zion and her people will have God in his wrath and God will protect His covenant people.  I pray that you are one of His. I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

