2 Nephi

2 Nephi 8

The week is coming to an end, and I want to testify to each of you that using flag phrases to study the scriptures is so helpful.  Over the course of the week, I have grown to love them and the way in which using them has helped me learn.

Chapter 8 has a total of 25 verses and I counted 16 flag phrases.  Verse 1 starts with “hearken unto me.”  I think that is pretty clear: listen intently to what I have to say. Isaiah is telling us to look unto Christ and that Heavenly Father shall comfort Zion and even all of her waste places.  Zion will be a joyous and beautiful place.  Verse 4 Isaiah says “hearken unto me: and “O my nation.”  In verse 7 we are again told to “hearken unto me.”  Are you listening?  Those of you that know righteousness and who have the laws of God written on their hearts.  Verse 9 tells us “Awake, awake” and let God be our strength.  Verse 12 tells us that we shall be comforted by the Lord and “behold” who are we to be afraid of man?  I actually really like this verse.

Who am I to be afraid of man?  Man will die and so will the son of man and they shall all be made like unto grass… verse 13 reminds us that the Lord has made the heavens and the earth and who are we to forget this?  I am a child of God, and then in verse 16 he says “behold, thou are my people.”  See… I am a child of God.  He says it over and over again.

“Awake, awake,” “hear this now,” “Thus saith thy Lord,” behold,” “O, Zion” and “O Jerusalem” are the flag phrases that finish out this chapter.

Read through 2 Nephi 8 and know how glorious is our God, how He loves each of his children.  I know that Jesus Christ is my Savior and that He will be here again on this earth to rule and reign, and with the restored priesthood and gospel on this earth today because of the courage and desire of a 14 year old boy named Joseph Smith, that I will be here along side him in all of His majesty and glory.

Standard

Leave a Reply

