2 Nephi

2 Nephi 10

Clustering here we come!

In 2 Nephi 10 Jacob, the brother of Nephi, is speaking of future times and is sharing with the people of Nephi what will become of the world and land where they are living.  Jacob shares some great information here.  He tells us that those that are with God are in the right place and wo unto those that are against Him.  I really love the promises that we are reminded of here.

As with most chapters, there are a lot of references to choose from, and unfortunately, there is not a scripture mastery for this chapter, so I was left to choose on my own where to cluster.  While reading, I got to verse 23 which reads “Therefore, cheer up your hearts, and remember that ye are free to act for yourselves-to choose the way of everlasting death or the way of eternal life.”  There are four separate reference points to this verse, but I would like to cluster for the fourth one, which is the word “choose.”  I have picked this one, because in my other class this week, we are focusing on goal setting and choices.  This just goes together like peanut butter and chocolate for me.

The only reference listed for “choose” here is Deuteronomy 30:19 which reads “I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live.” And here we find a reference to choose that sends us to the topical guide for the words agency and justice.

In the topical guide under the heading of agency, we are referred to other headings in the topical guide for: accountability, adversity, fall of man, initiative and liberty.  And for under the heading of justice we can go see: equity, Justice of God, Mercy of God, Jesus Christ the Judge, judgement, just and mercy.

I believe that we can all understand this simple concept that is taught.  Each and every person has choices to make.  We make choices every moment of our lives each and every day.  We may not really see our every moves in daily life as choices, but they really are.  I got to choose whether to get out of bed, I got to choose how to do my hair, I got to choose what clothes to wear, what I ate for breakfast, what time to leave to take the kids to school, if I even got the kids up for school.  I got to choose to sit down here and type up this blog post, I got to choose whether I prayed before studying.  There are simple things that we do every day that are choices.  Our life is made up of a bazillion little choices lumped together to form who we are as children of God.  Yes, of course there are big choices to make to.  We choose who to marry, how many children to have (if we have this blessing in life), where to live, which house to buy, where to send our children to school, what car to buy, where to buy our cemetery plots, where to send our children to college, how much money we save for our futures….. these decisions should be turned over to Jesus Christ.  As it puts so nicely in Doctrine and Covenants 9: 7-9: “Behold, you have not understood; you have supposed that I would give it unto you, when you took no thought save it was to ask me.  But, behold, I say unto you, that you must study it out in your mind; then you must ask me if it be right, and if it is right I will cause that your bosom shall burn within you; therefore, you shall feel that it is right.  But if it be not right you shall have no such feelings, but you shall have a stupor of thought that shall cause you to forget the thing which is wrong; therefore, you cannot write that which is sacred save it be given you from me.”  While the end of this is direct revelation to Joseph Smith for Oliver Cowdry, the rest of this is applicable to each and every one of us on these life choices.  Turn and face God, get on your knees and offer a humble and sincere prayer to our Heavenly Father and ask him if it be right after you have studied the topic out in your mind.

I testify that Heavenly Father does answer prayers.  I had one of my own answered just last night.  Jesus Christ lives and He watches over and cares for each one of us.  I leave this post with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

