2 Nephi

2 Nephi 13

What? What? Another Isaiah chapter…. YES.  I am going to learn and I hope that you are too…. and a spoiler alert: the next 10 chapters are Isaiah chapters too.

2 Nephi 13 is about punishments for those that are not obedient.  So, what can we do about this?  Be obedient, it’s that easy (or it’s that easy on paper anyway.)  Let’s do a little bit of clustering for this chapter too, since that is our study skill for this week.

I find this chapter to be sad.  As I read through it, I was seeing so much of our world today.  Will Christ be here tomorrow to rule and reign?  There are so many on this earth today that are proud and people that are haughty and we (globally) are not taking care of our poor.  The Lord of Hosts said “Ye beat my people to pieces, and grind the faces of the poor.”  We then learn in verse 24 what will happen due to the disobedience of the people.

For clustering of this chapter, I’d like to share verse 2 which reads: “The mighty man, and the man of war, the judge, and the prophet, and the prudent, and the ancient;” the words used in reference for this verse are mighty, war and prudent.

2 Kings 24:14 is there reference for “might man” and it reads: “And he carried away all Jerusalem, and all the princes, and all the mighty men of valour, even ten thousand captives, and all the craftsmen and smiths: none remained, save the poorest sort of the people of the land.” Isn’t it interesting that only the poorest remain?  That those that appear to have nothing are the ones that will be saved, I believe this is humility at it’s finest.

Next up is the phrase “man of war.”  We are led to read 1 Chronicles 28:3 which reads: “But God said unto me, Thou shalt not build an house for my name, because thou hast been a man of war, and  hast shed blood.” I find this point of scripture fascinating.  Is it curious that Heavenly Father told David not to build a temple?  David was a prophet, but because he was a man of war, God wanted this work to be for someone that had not shed the blood of man.  Purity for the temple.

Lastly, we have the word “prudent.” From the link, we learn that prudent means having “careful good judgement.” And we are sent in the footnotes to go read in the topical guide under the heading of “prudence.” In the topical guide we are told to go read about modesty, understanding, wisdom, and wise.  There are 33 verses that we can go read about the word prudence in our standard works, again, perhaps having careful good judgement for our lives is of high importance to The Lord.

I love this gospel, and am so very thankful for the guidance today of a living prophet.  I am and will ever be grateful for the Atonement and that I (and every other human) can be saved by and through Jesus Christ, the only Begotten Son of God.  I am thankful for the Pathway program and for the lessons that I am learning each week and hope to be able to continue to apply these lessons to my daily life.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

