2 Nephi

2 Nephi 15

While 2 Nephi 15 is 30 verses long, I find that we are learning with a different parable the same things that we learned in 2 Nephi 9.  Isaiah has a strong message to share with us, and that is FOLLOW THE LORD and put off those things of evil that are of the world.

As we are supposed to be clustering for our study skill set this week, we shall.  I’d like to focus on verse 26 which reads: “And he will lift up an ensign to the nations from far, and will hiss unto them from the end of the earth; and behold. they shall come with speed swiftly; none shall be weary nor stumble among them.”

The first word that we have a reference to is the word “ensign.”  I chose this verse specifically for this reason, as one of the magazines published by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is titled “Ensign.”  Off to the topical guide we go!  The guide tells us to also see: preparing a people for millennium and Mission of Latter-day Saints.   There are an additional 24 verses in the standard works where we can find the use of the word ensign.  From reading through the other verses available, we can learn that and ensign is a sign, a banner, or a standard.  I made a quick trip to the dictionary and learn that a traditional ensign is a flag that is flown from a ship with a distinctive badge on its design.  So here, we learn that Jesus Christ will come again to reign on the earth and with this, he will fly some sort of symbol for his flock to come to.  Can you imagine how glorious it will be to arrive in the promised land and the moment that you can see the flag flying from a distance off?  I envision a beautiful flag with a lamb right in the center.

Next we go look up the word nations in the topical guide.  We are referred to go read country, Gentiles, governments, heathen, blessings of Israel,  mission of Israel, land, and people.  I am making an honest choice not to count how many verses there are under this heading, suffice it to say there are a plethora.  As I am reading through my options to cluster through the topical guide, I have a sweet warm spirit with me.  I was reading through my choices in the New Testament and came across a verse that I have been prompted to share.  In John 11, Jesus raises Lazarus from the dead and then the chapter goes to where Caiaphas is speaking of the death of Jesus Christ to come.  John 11:51-52 reads: “And this spake he not of himself: but being high priest that year, he prophesied that Jesus should die for that nation; And not for that nation only, but that also he should gather together in one the children of God that were scattered abroad.”  Jesus Christ did die for His nation, and that nation is comprised of each and every one that will come unto him with a broken heart and a contrite spirit.

As I am in an emotional state now, as I always am after reading of the crucifixion, we will move on quickly so that I can take a break.  The third phrase that we are sent to research from versed 26 is “end of the earth” and we are sent to read 2 Nephi 29:2 which states: “And also, that I may remember the promises which I have made unto thee, Nephi, and also unto thy father, that i would remember your seed; and that the words of your seed should proceed forth our of my mouth unto your seed; and my words shall hiss forth unto the ends of the earth, for a standard unto my people, which are of the house of Israel.”  I think that in this use of the word “end,” that it is pretty clear that we are learning that Jesus Christ will signal with His ensign and that it doesn’t matter where you are on the face of the earth, you will know to come.  You could be on a tiny island off of the coast of Australia, be in Poland, Russia, United States, England, Greenland, or where ever you may be, but you will know that He is come and that it is time to go stand with Him in Zion.

The last word we are sent to understand is actually the phrase “come with speed.”  We are sent to the topical guide one again to read about the gathering of Israel.  The topical guide tells us to go read about the deliverance of Israel and the restoration of Israel.  Needless to say, there are many verses we can go read from here.  I was lead to read here in Doctrine and Covenants section 9; verses 7-8 read thus: “And ye are called to bring to pass the gathering of mine elect; for mine elect hear my voice and harden not their hearts; Wherefore the decree hath gone forth from the Father that they shall be gathered in unto one place upon the face of this land, to prepare their hearts and be prepared in all things against the day when tribulation and desolation are sent forth upon the wicked.”  While we don’t know the day that Christ will come again to this earth, we should certainly be prepared for it.  We learn here that we need to ensure that our hearts are soft and prepared to combat against all things of the devil.

I am so very thankful for the reading this morning, as my courage in a personal struggle strengthens and that I know Jesus Christ died for me, I am a child of heavenly parents and that I will be able to live with them again after this life.

Thank you all for reading and until we meet again, may God be with you.  I write this in the name of my Savior, Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

