FDREL 121

Putting it All Together; L05 FDREL 121

This week has been a fairly stressful week for my family.  My husband was released from his job on Wednesday morning and we spent the morning driving all over the metro area to fill out paperwork here and there for his new position.  We are so very thankful for the blessing of a new job right away, but changing jobs is always stressful.  Additionally, I received a telephone call on Tuesday evening and was asked to come in for a job interview on Thursday.  Our week was full of adventure, but these changes that could certainly be considered life events was a bit overwhelming.

What I learned this week, and I know that it doesn’t necessarily fit in with all of our reading of what it takes to be a child of God verses a follower of Satan, but this is what I have for the week:

God is good, and He answers prayer.  I should have kept count of how many times I said to my husband: “we should take this to the Lord in prayer.”  And I prayed and prayed this week.  I asked for blessings for our family, I asked for wisdom to know to do what was right, I asked for help in a personal issue, I prayed to know the right things to say and most of all, I prayed giving thanks for the blessings that we already have.

Stopping to ponder over this, I would like to share that I have been overwhelmed with feelings of gratitude and love from our Heavenly Father a couple of times this week.  I never used to be weepy, but as I have become an active member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints again, I cry a lot.  My heart gets full and spills out my eyes.

Earlier this morning I was reading a verse to share in a different post in this blog I read John 11:51-52 in which Caiaphas was prophesying about the death of Jesus Christ.  Now, I am clear on the simple fact that Christ died.  The fact of death doesn’t bother me in the least, everyone dies and death is in deed a part of The Plan of Salvation.  Without death, there would be no resurrection.  John 11:51-52 reads: “And this spake he not of himself: but being high priest that year, he prophesied that Jesus should die for that nation; And not for that nation only, but that also he should gather together in one the children of God that were scattered abroad.”  Jesus Christ did die for His nation, and that nation is comprised of each and every one that will come unto him with a broken heart and a contrite spirit. And this is what makes me weepy, the fact that Jesus Christ died so that I may come unto Him.  Jesus Christ is my Savior and Redeemer.  I am so thankful for the restored gospel today.

With being thankful for the standard works and the teachings of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints leads me to this thought: this week the devotional that was given on Tuesday October 20, 2o15 at Brigham Young University-Idaho by Brother Jayson Kunzler, so much information was gained.  I have had a testimony of Jesus Christ and of the Book of Mormon for many a year now.  However, what I learned from Brother Kunzler allowed me to learn that I have a great testimony of Prophet Joseph Smith too.  I was reminded this week of the weepyness that comes over me when I read Joseph Smith’s testimony.  I was reminded this week that without Joseph Smith, we would have no priesthood today and that we would not have the Book of Mormon at all.  This week, I know for sure the following things and am thankful to have had my mind open to understand where I stand and to be reminded of things which I already know and they are:

  • God is my Father in heaven.
  • Jesus Christ is the Son of God
  • Joseph Smith is a prophet of God
  • The Book of Mormon is the Word of God
  • Thomas S. Monson is a prophet of God today

By understanding that these five things are part of my testimony, I can continue to share information on these topics here on my blog and in “real life” with those that I come into contact with.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, may He be with you, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

