2 Nephi

2 Nephi 23

Isaiah 13 or 2 Nephi 23 that is the question….  no, I’m just kidding.  But they can be compared to one another and it is here that we learn of the pending destruction of the world at the time of the Second Coming.

We have a total of 22 verses, let’s see how many lists that I can find here and taker a gander at what they mean for us in our lives or in our future.

I really think that verse 22 by itself sums up this chapter very nicely, it reads: “And the wild beasts of the islands shall cry in their desolate houses, and dragons in their pleasant palaces; and her time is near to come, and her day shall not be prolonged.  For I will destroy her speedily; yea, for I will be merciful unto my people, but the wicked shall perish.”  Jesus Christ will cleanse the earth, and His unto his disciples will he be merciful, and to those who are not, they shall perish into everlasting torment.

There are a few lists in this chapter.  Here is what I found:

Verses 7-8: all hands be faint, every man’s heart shall melt, they shall be afraid, pangs of sorrows, amazed at one another, faces shall be as flames

Verses 9-11: with wrath and fierce anger, desolate, destroy, not give their light, sun shall be darkened, moon shall not shine, punish for evil and iniquity, arrogancy to cease, lay down haughtiness

Verses 13-19: shake the heavens, earth remove out of her place, wrath, fierce anger, as the chased roe, sheep that no man taketh, turn to his own people, flee every one, proud shall be thrust, wicked shall fall, children dashed to pieces, houses spoiled, wives ravished, bows dash young men, no pity on the fruit of thy womb, no glory

I find each of these lists are warnings to the wicked.  If your read these lists by themselves, they are not what I would consider a good time.  I can not imagine myself here on earth amid the death and destruction, but I can certainly feel myself drawn to His presence and working my way towards Him.  I am, by no means, a perfect being.  I have sins a plenty and those that I am painfully aware of, I am working on.  One day, I wish to return to His presence and I know that by His grace and mercifulness, that I have that chance.  I pray that each of you are striving towards bettering yourselves in a Christ-like manner and strive for the Celestial Kingdom to be reunited with your Heavenly parents.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

