2 Nephi

2 Nephi 24

2 Nephi 24 can be compared to Isaiah 14.  I do pray that you take a moment to compare the two as you study.  I will admit that this is not one of my favorite Isaiah chapters, but it still has a strong message to share.  The beginning of the chapter tells that those that are gathered with Christ will have rest from the hard things that they experienced during their mortal lives.  Starting in verse 4 and continuing through the end of the chapter, there are many words spoke of how Lucifer will be cast away along with those who followed him.  The verse that really caught my attention though is verse 14 which reads: “I will ascend about the heights of the clouds; I will be like the Most High.” This verse is Jesus Christ speaking to Lucifer and then Christ tells his brother that he will be brought down to hell.  I am so glad that I am on the right side of the line.

Here are the lists that I found in 2 Nephi 24:

Verse 3: rest from sorry, fear, hard bondage- blessings to Christ’s disciples in the millennium

Verse 11: pomp is brought down, noise is not heard, worm under thee, worms cover thee- promises to Satan’s followers in the millennium

Verse 13-14: ascend into heaven, exalt my throne, sit upon the mount, ascend above the heights, be like the Most High- What Jesus Christ will do

Verse 15-16: be brought down to hell, narrowly look upon thee- What will happen to Lucifer

Verse 22: the name, remnant, son, nephew-those that follow Lucifer will be cut off from the presence of God

I like these lists, they are simple and easy to understand. I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

