2 Nephi

2 Nephi 27

As I am sitting here to write this post, I have a little bit of guilt, so you get to read it.  I meant to get this post, and also 2 Nephi 26 done yesterday, as this was technically last weeks reading.  In our class, however, we are told to do at least 5 days of studying for at least 30 minutes each day, that I did, but I did not get my blog posts done for these two chapters and I feel bad about it.  Okay, off my soap box and moving on.

While this chapter has several lists in it, they are pretty set and easy to pick out.  I am choosing not to get into that right now and instead share what this chapter is about and a bit of my testimony.  2 Nephi 27 can be compared to Isaiah 29 and with that being said, I have no issue understanding most of this chapter as I normally struggle with reading Isaiah’s works. Again, a big shout out to Brother Mike Day and all of his help with insight into understanding Isaiah.  You can visit his site here, and know that his info is so much more comprehensive than mine, in short, he is great!

Verses 6 and 7 of 2 Nephi 27 read: “And it shall come to pass that the Lord God shall bring forth unto you the words of a book, and they shall be the words of them which have slumbered.  And behold the book shall be sealed; and in the book shall be a revelation from God, from the beginning of the world to the ending thereof.”  This is Isaiah telling us of the coming of the Book of Mormon.  Keep in mind, please, that Isaiah is writing in Old Testament times.  He is telling us before Jesus Christ was born to walk the land and share his gospel that the Book of Mormon was to come about.  In verse 14, we are told that there will be witnesses brought forth.  We know from the introduction of the Book of Mormon that there are witnesses to testify of its origin.  There are several more verses that sync up with Joseph Smith’s own testimony about how the Book of Mormon is to come about and how there will be parts lost and parts still sealed up for God to bring to earth in his own time.  I know from reading this chapter that it is true.  If you don’t yet have a testimony of the Book of Mormon, I would encourage you to get on your knees book of mormon is trueand pray to our Heavenly Father with a sincere heart and ask Him for yourself if this book is true.  He will answer you, as he did me.  I know that this is true and I love feeling the power of the Holy Ghost fill my entire being.  I love knowing that He is speaking to me, just a mother of five typing up a blog in Southeast Texas.   God is good, He works miracles and speaks to his children each and every day.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

