2 Nephi

2 Nephi 28

It’s not the Sabbath, but the beginning of a new week for school.  This week, I want to try to focus on using symbolism in the scriptures, but am really a little leery of this study skill.  I’m not confident in this arena at all, but I know that if I make a good effort with this, that I will gain at least something.  Religion, as with most aspects of life, is full of symbols.  Let me read through this chapter and see what I can find.

After a good study of this chapter, I really didn’t find too much symbolism. The one that sticks out in my head right off the bat though is the whore of all the earth found in verse 18.  Remember from previous readings that we learned that the whore of all the earth, which is the great and abominable church of Satan.  Essentially, all those who are led away from the straight and narrow path and into the filthy waters.

I really enjoyed this chapter, even though it focuses on a lot of negatives, we are really clearly told that Heavenly Father still speaks to his children and what it is that we must not do in order to be received into his kingdom when the time comes.

I hope that you enjoy the study of this chapter and can find the light within.  “If they will repent and come unto me; for mine arm is lengthened out all the day long, saith the Lord God of Hosts”  reads the end of 2 Nephi 28:32, we can all find our happiness and shake off the chains that bind us down.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

