FDREL 121, Uncategorized

Putting it All Together; L09 FDREL 121

If you’ve been following over the course of the last ten weeks, you will have previously read that I have some homework assignments that I get to write a blog post for.  This is one of them.

While I previously wrote about the Book of Enos (you can read that post here,)  I am certain that at that time that I didn’t have the understanding of Enos, that I now possess.  Therefore, what I learned that I find most valuable from the assigned reading, is about the strength and courage of Enos.

Enos is the son of Jacob, the nephew of Nephi and the grandson of Lehi.  I imagine that as he grew up, that he was taught the gospel of Jesus Christ and heard his parents and family on a daily basis preaching in one manner or another.  As Enos grew up, he learned many things, as a boy in his time would have: how to hunt, how to pray, how to provide food and shelter, how to love and many other fine attributes.  In my mind, he is a well rounded fellow coming from a family that has had such great leaders.  While these are my thoughts, they may not be true, so I try to put these assumptions out of my mind.

Enos obtains the brass plates from his father Jacob at the time of Jacob’s death.  He opens the chapter by telling us that his dad was a just man and that he learned the language of Jacob and also was instructed by his dad in the “nurture and admonition of the Lord.”  His next utterance is of thanks, he writes his sincere gratitude for being taught the gospel by his father.  The following verse tells us that Enos had a wrestle before God.  I really like that Enos is upfront and shares that he did not know everything that he needed to in order to become the leader of the Nephites and be the one to keep and record on the brass plates.  Enos was having an internal struggle. Perhaps feeling unworthy or even doubting his faith.  He continues to share that his soul hungered.  I know exactly what he means, those times in life where the only thing that can quench that emptiness inside of you is the love of Christ.  In this time of emptiness, Enos knelt down before God and “cried unto him in mighty prayer and supplication” for his soul.  He prayed and prayed until the still small voice came to him and told him that he was forgiven of his sins and also told him that he would be blessed.  Enos shares that he felt his guilt be washed away and is told by the Lord that this is because of his faith in Christ.

Enos’ story has touched my heart and allowed me to see and understand that everyone in this life, has to come to understand for themselves that Jesus Christ is our Savior.  Each and every one of us that has faith in Jesus Christ and our Heavenly Father, at some time in our lives, will have this wrestle before God while we are learning for ourselves the truth.

In closing, I would encourage each of you, to take the time to get on your knees and pray in gratitude and humility and ask your Heavenly Father what for help with whatever you are wrestling with and know that “whatsoever thing ye shall ask in faith, believing that ye shall receive in the name of Christ, ye shall receive it.” Enos 1:15

And I leave this post with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

