Mosiah

Mosiah 4

This week I will be using the substitution study skill set again.  I liked this when I used it before, and it was presented at my gathering for Pathway this week, so I look forward to using it again.  Let’s see what I can learn from king Benjamin today!

I’m going to change up verse 2 using substitution so that you can see what it may look like so that you can use it yourself.  I really find that this study skill set allows us to liken the scriptures unto ourselves.

And I had viewed myself in my own carnal state, even less than the dust of the earth.  And I cried aloud with my voice, saying: O have mercy, and apply the atoning blood of Christ that I may receive forgiveness of my sins, and my heart may be purified; for I believe in Jesus Christ, the Son of God, who created heaven and earth, and all things; who shall come down among the children of men.

Oh, how I like how that reads!  Verse 3 is even better:

And it came to pass that after I had spoken these words the Spirit of the Lord came upon me, and I was filled with joy, having received a remission of my sins, and having peace of conscience because of the exceeding faith which I had in Jesus Christ who should come, according to the words which king Benjamin had spoken unto me.

When using this, however, you may have to work a little harder to change up the pronouns, check out verse 4:

And king Benjamin again opened his mouth and began to speak unto me, saying;  friends and brethren, kindred and people, king Benjamin would again call my attention, that I may hear and understand the reminder of his words which he shall speak unto me.  This one was a bit more difficult to change than the first two, but still doable.

King Benjamin continues his address speaking to the people and explaining to them that the only way that they may be saved is by and through the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ.  He tells the people that there is no other way, nor will there be and this is applicable to every person who ever has or ever will live.

Mosiah 4 9Verse 9 is a particular scripture that is shared a lot within the Latter-day Saint community, and rightly so.  Without a belief in God, his works, wisdom and power, we would certainly not have the ability to know that Jesus Christ is the Redeemer of the world, and therefore we would have to perish.

King Benjamin follows this by exhorting the people to repentance and telling them that they must be humble and sincere in their requests in prayer, with a promise that if indeed we are humble and sincere that we will be forgiven.  This is one of the most precious gifts that we will ever receive, in this life or the next.

Verse 11 tells us that we need to keep God in our thoughts, always and remember to be humble in our daily lives, have daily prayer and stand fast in our faith.

One of the quotes that has been in my mind a lot these days, perhaps because of the holiday season upon us, but nevertheless, how true.  In verse 19 king Benjamin says “are we not all beggars?”  As I ponder this, I know how true it is.  Not one of us is different than another, we are all in the same boat and we all have needs that we should turn to Heavenly Father for.  None of us are perfect, and so each of us must turn to Him and ask for forgiveness.

Here are verses 21 and 22 using substitution:

And now, if God, who has created me, on whom I am dependent for my life and for all that I have and are, doth grant unto me whatsoever I ask that is right, in faith, believe that I shall receive, O then, how I ought to impart of the substance that I have to another.  And if I judge the man who putteth up his petition to me for my substance that he perish not and condemn him, how much more just will be my condemnation for witholding my substance, which doth not belong to me but to God. to whom also your life belongeth; and yet I put up no petition, nor repent of the thing which thou has done.

In verse 27 king Benjamin reminds us that we should be doing things all in order: Mosiah 4 27

To wrap up this chapter, I would encourage you to read it in it’s entirety for yourself and to use the substitution study skill to liken the scriptures unto yourself.  It really does work, I testify to each of you.  And keep in mind the last admonishment given at the very end of the chapter:

Mosiah 4 30

I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

