Mosiah

Mosiah 5

What does king Benjamin have more to say to us?  Let’s dig in a little further and turn a couple of pages to find out!  Don’t forget to use the substitution study skill!

This chapter starts out with king Benjamin wanting to know if the people believed in his words,and using substitution verse two would read:

And I cried with my voice, saying: yea, I believe all the words which thou hast spoken unto us; and also, I know of their surety and truth, because of the Spirit of the Lord Omnipotent, which has wrought a mighty change in me, or in my heart, that I have no more disposition to do evil, but to do good continually.

I love this study skill… I’ll probably only say that 25 more times this week.

Verse 5: And I am willing to enter into a covenant with my God to do his will, and to be obedient to his commandments in all things that he shall command me, all the remainder of my days, that I many not bring upon myself a never-ending torment, as has been spoken by the angel, that I may not drink of the cup of the wrath of God.

We learn in verse 7 that because of this, we are called children of Christ.  Mosiah 5 8Sons and Daughters.  Is that not wonderful? We have been spiritually begotten when we make this agreement with our Father in Heaven.  We are made free and if we only be obedient to God and keep his commandments and honor being called a child of God, in the name of Christ, we shall be “found at the right hand of God.”  The only way that this can be undone is by our own transgressions, we have agency.

King Benjamin continues in his teaching and reminds us to be mindful of Christ and to listen to the Spirit, as He is our Master to serve.  In all things we should follow Him to obtain our “everlasting salvation and eternal life” through Jesus Christ.

Standard

Leave a Reply

