Mosiah

Mosiah 13

Oops.  I had every intention of having this blog post written before it actually posted.  So much for good  intentions.  On the up side, I was able to provide service for a family in our ward today and send my older two daughters off on a trip to the temple with the Young Women and get a bunch of baking done for Thanksgiving.  Oh, and I also read two chapters in Jesus the Christ by Elder James Talmage… if you haven’t read it, you totally should.

Now, let’s look and see what Mosiah 13 has to teach me tonight.

Okay, we pick up with Abinadi telling king Noah and his priests what it is that they haven’t done.  Since we already know that king Noah isn’t a very pleasant man, we should assume the worst… they aren’t really pleased with what it is that Abinadi shares with them and they went to “lay their hands on him.”  At this point, Abinadi rebukes them and tells them that “God shall smite you if ye lay your hands upon me, for I have not delivered the message which the Lord sent me to deliver; neither have I told you that which ye requested that I should tell; therefore, God will not suffer that I shall be destroyed at this time.”  This statement, while very applicable to the situation, reminds me that God know who I am.  He knew who Abinadi was, he knew who king Noah and each of those priests were, and he knows who I am.  What a sweet morsel of knowledge.

Little tidbit here… the priests had faith.  This I can tell because they knew by the glow of Abinadi’s face that the Spirit of the Lord was with him and they were afraid to touch him.  They had a smidgen of faith to know that this man, Abinadi was sent of God.  I wonder how these men can know that someone speaks the truth to them and they are still so angry over it.  I understand that Abinadi was calling them out on their sins, but to be blatantly angry at someone, to the point of homicide is just beside me.

Verse 10, Abinadi shares a prophesy: “what you do to me, after this, shall be as a type and a shadow of things which are to come.”  Hmmmm, famine? pestilence? slaughter of the people in war? bondage?

Abinadi then rehearses the ten commandments to this group of cranky men and when he finishes telling them the laws of Moses, he tells them Mosiah 13 16again that they aren’t even following these as they proclaimed. In verses 27-28 he tells them that the time will come when it is no longer necessary to keep the laws of Moses, because Jesus Christ is coming and we will need to live within his rules after he comes.

The rest of this chapter wraps up with Abinadi further reminding these men of all the prophets of old who have told of the coming of Christ.

Next up, a little Isaiah. Stay tuned.

I write this in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

