Introduction

Introduction

The new semester has begun, and with such, I made an assumption that we would be jumping right into the next chapter of the Book of Mormon.  You know what happens when we assume, right?  Well, that’s what happened.  That being said, this weeks study is actually on the first few pages of the Book of Mormon and so that is what I shall write about.  Today, I’m going to share about the Introduction to the Book of Mormon and see what we can learn.

The introduction begins “The Book of Mormon is a volume of holy scriptures comparable to the Bible.”  While I have faith that this is true, I think in my head as the Book of Mormon being an easier study and story than the Bible and that is a complimentary supplement.  I love the Book of Mormon and I love the stories and people within the pages.  I love to read and learn more each time that I get through it.

I am an American through and through.  My family immigrated to the United States as my great-grandparents on my paternal side and half of my maternal side and my grandmother was an immigrant on my maternal side as well.  I was born and bred here.  I am an American.  That being said, the Book of Mormon contains the history of people that immigrated to the American continent at Heavenly Father’s direction and that speaks to me on a very basic level.  I enjoy reading in the Bible.  I enjoy the stories, but the Book of Mormon is about the people that had contact with Heavenly Father right here where I was born and raised, and that makes it a little more special to me.

As the Bible has many prophets, so does the Book of Mormon (I’m going to stop linking now) and we hear from these prophets and their stories of trial, tribulation, and success.  There are two different civilizations that we learn about within the Book of Mormon and we read of Jesus Christ coming to visit in the Americas after his crucifixion and resurrection.

Since my family is now 100% home for the weekend (unless hubby gets called out to work,) it’s time for me to wrap up this post and get to the dinner table.  With that, the Book of Mormon is translated by Joseph Smith as he was directed by Jesus Christ through the ministration of the angel Moroni.

The Book of Mormon is said to be, by Joseph Smith, “the most correct of any book on earth, and the keystone of our religion, and a man would get nearer to God by abiding by its precepts, than by any other book.”  I whole-heartedly believe this statement and I ask that you offer up a prayer so that you can believe this as well.

I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

