Alma

Alma 32

Will I have all six chapters blogged before gathering tomorrow night?  Hmmm, my guess is no, but it might be a good little challenge for myself.

We are still using the substitution skill set and will be tossing that in the mix with Alma 32.  I pray that any studying that you are doing, is going well and that using the substitution skill set helps you liken the scriptures unto yourself.

Please note that this chapter has several very powerful verses, take the time to read and study this chapter out.  Ponder it in your mind and let the concepts of this chapter work into your heart.  This chapter fills my soul with joy and brings tears to my eyes each and every time that I read it.  I can almost always see myself being a Zoramite, give it a try.

So as we begin, Alma and his brethren split up and go different ways in the community to share the word of God.  It so happened that they had really good success sharing the message of the Messiah with those in the lower class of people.  We learn at the end of verse two, that they have been cast out of the synagogues for worshiping God because they didn’t have “nice” clothing.  People of the upper classes saw them as being filthy and not fit for being inside and therefore were not allowed, I find this quite horrific and frankly not God like in any manner.  However, because these poor people were cast off by the rich, they were also poor in heart.

Alma was out at a place called Onidah and was preaching and there was a great multitude that had gathered and these were those that were poor in heart and one of the men came forward and asked what he and his fellow man should do since they have been cast out and cannot worship God.  The short story here is that Alma rejoiced in this question and then taught.  Alma taught that one can worship God wherever one might be.  Do not only worship on the Sabbath, worship all week long, each and every day.  Next Alma teaches a little about humility and the blessings that one can receive for being humble verse those that may be compelled to be humble.

Next, Alma teaches about faith.  One of my very favorite verses in all of scripture is Alma 32:21 which reads: “And now as I said concerning faith- faith is not to have a perfect knowledge of things; therefore if ye have faith ye hope for things which are not seen, which are true.”  When I first read this scripture years ago, it was a big “AH-HA!” moment for me.  I learned that I did have faith, I didn’t feel lost anymore.

The remainder of Alma 32 is Alma sharing a story with the Zoramites about how to grow faith.  Plant your seed and nourish it.  Take care that your tree has room to grow and flourish, if you don’t take care of what you have planted, it shall wither away.  Read these verses if you are struggling, it is so very uplifting.

I pray that this chapter brings you just a tad bit of the joy that it brings me, and I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

