Alma

Alma 38

As I write, I will be trying to use doctrine and principle to study this chapter, as well as the rest of the posts for this week.  If you don’t remember what this is, you can read here and get a quick refresher.

In Alma 38, Alma is talking to his second son, Shiblon.  There is one verse in here, that members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints use every now and then as a reminder on a way to live our life.  So, I find this to be a gospel principle.  Let’s get there:

The first principle that we find is in verse one, and is one that we found in Alma 36 as well; that is that if one keeps the commandments of God, one will prosper and if one chooses not to keep the commandments given, one will be cut off from the presence of God.

At the end of verse two is another gospel principle: “for blessed is he that endureth to the end.”  I find great comfort in these words.  To endure to the end, it does not mean to just survive, but to thrive and do your best work right up to the moment that you stand in front of Jesus Christ for judgement.  It means more than this mortal life, it means while we are in the spirit world after this life.  We can know that we were thriving before we made our grand appearance on this earth as we were with Heavenly Father, so we need to continue that happiness and push forward in joy right up to that final moment.

Verse five… I am really struggling with a couple things in my life right now and my goodness these chapters are really pulling my heart strings.  Verse five reads: “I would that ye should remember, that as much as ye shall put your trust in God even so much ye shall be delivered out of your trials, and your troubles, and your afflictions, and ye shall be lifted up at the last day.”  What a great gospel principle!  Now, to focus on application.

Verse 9 “that there is no other way or means whereby man can be saved, only in and through Christ.  Behold, he is the life and the light of the world.  Behold, he is the word of truth and righteousness.”  If that isn’t gospel principle, I surely don’t know what is.

Verse 10: “be diligent and temperate in all things”

Verse 11: “See that ye are not lifted up unto pride, yea, see that ye do not boast in your own wisdom, no of your much strength.”

Verse 12: “Use boldness, but not overbearance; and also see that ye bridle all your passions, that ye may be filled with love; see that ye refrain from idleness.”  This is the Alma 38 12verse that I mentioned at the beginning of this post.  To bridle all your passions… this doesn’t mean to not do things that you love, but it means to do things in moderation.  I love to crochet, for example, and with this, I could sit and crochet all day long and be perfectly content.  However, then I wouldn’t be taking care of my household duties and motherly responsibilities.  We must keep our passions in check so that we can better serve the Lord.

Verse 14: “Do not say: O God, I thank thee that we are better than our brethren; but rather say: O Lord, forgive my unworthiness, and remember my brethren in mercy-0yea, acknowledge your unworthiness before God at all times.”

Verse 15: “Teach the word unto this people”

Alma’s counsel to Shiblon is just amazing to my heart and fills my soul with great reminders on how to behave and just to be.  As I study the Book of Mormon in detail through this course, I know that I am learning and growing, even if it hurts at times.  Salvation through Jesus Christ will be sweet.

I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, my Redeemer, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

