Alma

Alma 58

Only six chapters left for the week! This make me feel like I am actually getting something done.  I like it.  Please remember that we are using substitution this week, I don’t think that I have done an excellent job doing so and now that I am thinking about it, I should have used this when I was reading Moroni’s epistle.  I think that would have done a lot of good for studying purposes.  I shall go back and do this personally after I get a couple of these posts knocked out.  I pray that you are learning a little bit from your studies this week too.

In Alma 58 we continue to read of the battles that Helaman and the stripling warriors are fighting.  Helaman is a great strategist and does all that he can with the few number of soldiers that he has to regain possession of land without the shedding of blood.  Here we read that the army was depleted and thinly dispersed because the Nephites had regained many cities.   The army waited for a long period of time for reinforcements and provisions from Zarahemla and when they arrived, it just wasn’t enough.  The army continued daily to pray and to rely on God to provide for and protect them.  And so they were delivered and successful in their trials.

I have two verses in this chapter that really spoke to me and they are verses 10-11 which read: “Therefore we did pour out our souls in prayer to God, that he would strengthen us and deliver us out of the hands of our enemies, yea and also give us strength that we might retain our cities, and our lands, and our possessions, for the support of our people. Yea, and it came to pass that the Lord our God did visit us with assurances that he would deliver us; yea, insomuch that he did speak peace to our souls, and did grant unto us great faith, and did cause us that we should hope for our deliverance in him.”

As I read those two verses, the Holy Ghost swept over me and filled my heart.  This was a reminder to me that if and when I pour out my soul to God in prayer that he will strengthen me and deliver me out of the hands of my enemies…. it doesn’t matter that the enemy isn’t holding a cimeter, an enemy is an enemy even if it is myself.

I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

