Helaman

Helaman 11

Cause and effect: there is a lot of cause and effect here in Helaman 11.  I’m going to share my favorite to start off, even though it is toward the end of the chapter.

Verse 34 reads: “Now this great evil, which came unto the people because of their iniquity, did stir them up again in remembrance of the Lord their God.”

  • Cause: A great evil (Gadianton robbers) came into the land
  • Effect: Remembrance of God

Why is it that we read over and over again throughout the scriptures that people or civilizations fall because of their slowness to remember God?  Why is it that people forget Him and all that He has given us?   I know that I am guilty of this too.  I am by no means perfect and have had many instances and periods throughout my life where I am slow to remember Heavenly Father and his son Jesus Christ and all that has been done for me.  And I certainly paid the price.

My instructor for my religion course this week posted a note for our class and he asked this:

What is the difference between Nephi asking for the famine to strike the people (verse 3-5) and Nephi asking for the famine to come to an end (verse 10-16).  I have given my thoughts on this in the discussion board in my classroom, what are your thoughts?  I’d love to hear them, leave me a note…..

I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

