Helaman

Helaman 12

More cause and effect.  We can find it in every book throughout the Book of Mormon (at least I think so).

Verse 1: “And thus we can behold…”

Verse 2: “”and we may see…”

Verse 3: “And thus we see…”

Verse 26: “they that have done good shall have everlasting life; and they that have done evil shall have everlasting damnation. And thus it is.”

This chapter is a great comparison between Jesus Christ and the powers that Heavenly Father has given unto the prophet Nephi.  We read in Helaman 10:7 “Behold, I (God) give unto you (Nephi) power, that whatsoever ye shall seal on earth shall be sealed in heaven; and whatsoever ye shall loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven; and thus shall ye have power among this people.”  In Helaman 12:8-21 all manner of things that can and will happen at the command of Christ.  While Nephi is not the Christ, he was given Christ like qualities.  He prays for the people, he does the Father’s will and not his own and here we are reminded of how similar the two of them are.

These thoughts bring me to thoughts of Latter-day prophets and makes me go hmmmm.  I know that our modern day prophets are of God and I believe that they have a much more detailed relationship with Heavenly Father than I do.  I also know that I have heard at least one of them share that they have had dealings with our Heavenly Father that they are not permitted to share, much like what Joseph Smith encountered.  There are many things yet to be revealed unto the human race and they will be revealed in His time.

I am so thankful for the comparison today and grateful for the opportunity to study and understand more of Him.

I write this in His sacred name, Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

