FDREL 122

L05 FDREL 122 Putting It All Together

This week, what I really loved learning was of how Nephi, the son of Helaman, was so much like Jesus Christ.  I loved knowing this so when I was reading the verses, I could envision the faith and passion of Nephi.

On Monday night, during Family Home Evening, my husband took his turn giving the lesson.  We are currently going through the missionary member lessons again at the direction of our Stake Presidency.  With this, we had the missionaries present (as we do most Monday nights) and my husband gave the lesson on The Plan of Salvation.  Our conversation turned to that of Jesus Christ.  I took this opportunity to share with my family the similarities between Nephi and Christ.

I read to my family Helaman 10.  In this chapter we read that Nephi wanders and ponders and as he does so, Heavenly Father speaks directly to him.  Nephi is told that he is blessed because of his diligence to declare the word of God to the people and because of his diligence and faithfulness, he is made might in many ways by God.  Nephi is given the power seal things upon the earth and whatever he seals on earth will also be sealed in heaven.  He is given great powers of destruction and also powers to heal (which we learn in Helaman 16).

What I love most about the reading this week which was Helaman 10 through Helaman 16 is that Samuel and Nephi are so diligent and faithful that they are protected by the hand of the Lord.  These men go and do.  These men weep for their fellow men and they rejoice at the conversions of many.  The people of this time frame were a blessed people having two prophets to preach repentance unto them and to show them the path which is right.

Closing our FHE meeting, I shared my testimony with my family and told them how that I know that Jesus Christ is my Savior and that the Book of Mormon speaks to my heart.  I let them each know that as we read and study our scriptures and that as we ponder as Nephi did, we can grow closer to our Heavenly Father.  By pondering our thoughts, we can have answers to our prayers and know that we are on the path of righteousness as the Spirit whispers to us.

I am so grateful to be a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and I am grateful to have the Book of Mormon to study.  I love the way that the words speak to my heart and that my soul rejoices as I learn and grow from my scripture studies.  I pray that as you may read this post that something inspires you so that you know that you are a child of God.

In the name of Jesus Christ, my Redeemer, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

