3 Nephi

3 Nephi 11

Prior to this chapter starting; our scriptures have this information: “Jesus Christ did show himself unto the people of Nephi, as the multitude were gathered together in the land Bountiful, and did minister unto them; and on this wise did he show himself unto them.”  This is going to take the course of the next 16 chapter.

We are still covering flag phrases…. so here’s the run-down on those: verse 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11,12,13,15,18,23, 24, 29, 30,31,35,39, and 41.  I may have missed one or two in there.  Needless to say, the chapter is important and full of flag phrases intended for us to pause and reflect and understand what it is that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ are teaching us.  Since this chapter (as stated in the first paragraph) is Christ himself speaking,there is a lot to pay attention to.

A still small voice came to the multitude gathered in Bountiful as they were talking of Christ and the voice did pierce their souls.  The voice repeated and on the third time, the people understood the voice which said “Behold, my Beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased, in whom I have glorified my name – hear ye him.”  And Christ descended from heaven in a white robe and stood among them and he spoke to them and said “Behold, I am Jesus Christ, whom the prophets testified shall come into the world.  And behold, I am the light and the life of the world; and I have drunk out of that bitter cup which the Father hath given me, and have glorified the Father in taking upon me the sins of the world, in the which I have suffered the will of the Father in all things from the beginning.”

He then said: “Arise and come forth unto me, that ye may thrust your hands into my side, and also that ye may feel the prints of the nails in my hands and in my feet, that ye may know that I am the God of Israel, and the God of the whole earth, and have been slain for the sins of the world.”  And one by one each person went forth and did; when each had their turn they did cry out “Hosanna! Blessed be the name of the Most High God!  And they did fall down at the feet of Jesus, and did worship him.”

Nephi was then called to come before the Lord and the Lord, in person, in front of this large group did give Nephi the power to baptize when He returned to heaven.  And here, is where we read the exactness of the baptismal covenant that is given by Christ himself: “Having authority given me of Jesus Christ, I baptize you in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.”

Christ then instructs people that contention is of the devil.  He then tells us several times that we need to repent, be baptized and be as little children and come unto Him to enter into the kingdom of God.

Verse 39 has a great promise, spoken from Christ directly; “I say unto you, that this is my doctrine, and whoso buildeth upon this buildeth upon my rock, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against them.”  What a fantastic promise from our Savior.

I will leave this chapter for you to ponder, in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

