3 Nephi

3 Nephi 3

Well, here I am, ending my vacation and at 30,000 feet. I am going to do my best to get a lot of blog posts written while I am up here…. Since there really isn’t much else to do.

I believe that this week I am supposed to be looking at flag phrases last week, and since this post goes there, that’s what I will try to focus on.

Verse 1 starts us off with the flag phrase of “And now it came to pass.” This flag phrase tells us that what is to follow is important for us to know. This information in verse 1 is: in the 16th year of Christ’s life on earth the governor of the land was named Lachoneus and he got a letter from the leader of the Gadianton robbers who was named Giddianhi. In this letter Giddianhi expresses his impressions of Lachoneus and what he thinks should happen as fat as the Nephites going to war against the robbers. Giddianhi essentially tells the Nephites to give themselves over as slaves to the robbers and support these lazy human beings and they won’t kill them. The Nephites (Lachoneus) was surprised at the boldness of the robbers and rallied together to do what they could to protect themselves, their possessions and their families. Lachoneus then had the men gather together to form an army and appointed chief captains over the troops. The leader of the entire army was named Gidgiddoni. With Gidgiddoni being appointed as the leader of the army, with this, he was also a prophet of God and the chief judge of the Nephites.

The people then wanted Gidgiddoni to ask of Heavenly Father if they should go into the wilderness to fight the robbers. The answer they received was a resounding “no.” The Nephites were instructed to fortify themselves and prepare and so they did.

This closes out the chapter…. And I leave this with you in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

PS I’m sorry there are no pics…. maybe when I get caught up I can go back and add some.

Standard

Leave a Reply

