3 Nephi

3 Nephi 15

Visualization.

A reminder from the Savior: those that do the things that Jesus taught during his ministry will be raised up at the last day.  And Christ, being the great I Am, knew that the people were curious and wondering what He had to say regarding the law of Moses.  He then told them not to marvel.  Now marvel doesn’t just mean to awe at something, but to be curious or wonder about.  So then He told the people (and us by proxy) that it is he that gave the law and that the law of Moses is fulfilled through him and came to an end.  He also says that not everything that has been prophesied about from prophets of old have yet to be completed.  He clearly states in verse 7 “I do not destroy that which hath been spoken concerning things which are to come.”  Continuing in verse 8 “the covenant which I have made with my people is not all fulfilled; but the law which was given unto Moses hath an end with me.”

Verse 9 is beautiful in its meaning and if we apply this to our lives, we shall certainly be joyous “I am the law, and the light.  Look unto me, and endure to the end, and ye shall live; for unto him that endureth to the end will I give eternal life.”  He then instructs us to keep the commandments and tells the chosen 12 that they will be a light unto the people.   Aren’t the 12 today a light unto us?  I know that I love hearing and reading their words and they certainly shed a light on my life, understanding of things temporal and spiritual.

In verse 17, Jesus explains that all of His children shall be of one fold.  Christ’s followers shall be one family, all His children.  Tribes were separated in the past one from another because of iniquity, and He will bring each of the tribes together to be as one.

To close out this chapter, Jesus makes something very clear that I had not understood from reading straight from the Bible, and that is that those in Jerusalem supposed that the Gentiles (non-Jews) should never see Him nor hear his voice.  He clearly stats that he is here and the Gentiles are hearing him at this time and He can manifest himself unto those that he chooses and ensures the Gentiles that they are numbered among his sheep.

I am glad to be a sheep, at least as far as being in His flock is concerned. Otherwise, I’m not such a great follower.  I’d rather be the shepherd.

I leave this with you in His great name, Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

