3 Nephi

3 Nephi 23

I am working a little ahead as far as blog posting is related to Pathway gathering.  I took a sneak peek at what is to come and I discovered that in a couple of weeks there are 15 chapters to cover.  So, I thought I would try and get a little ahead of the game.  This being said, I don’t have a study skill to present at this time, but as soon as Friday morning rolls around, I will… so don’t you worry about that (as if you were.)

To begin 3 Nephi 23, we are given a commandment by Christ “ye search these things diligently; for great are the words of Isaiah.” And in verse 4 he continues “Therefore give heed to my words; write the things which I have told you.”  Christ explains that at the Father’s will, his words will be taken to all of the Gentiles.

I really like part of verse 5 which reads “Search the prophets, for many there be that testify of these things.”  This applies to us today, the same that it applied to the Nephites almost 2,000 years ago. We should be searching the words of our prophets, both ancient and modern day and apply their teachings to our lives.

Jesus then reviews the written scriptures that the Nephites have and in doing so, discovers that the teachings and prophecy of Samuel the Lamanite were missing from their written word.   Christ asks if what Samuel taught had been fulfilled and Nephi and others said that yes his prophesy had been fulfilled.  The Savior then asked why it wasn’t written, as it should be and commanded that it be done.  He then expounded on the scriptures to the Nephites and told them that they should teach what he had expounded on.

A pretty short chapter all in all, but some good commandments and advise from the great I Am.

I leave this with you in His name, Jesus Christ. Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

