3 Nephi

3 Nephi 26

I don’t recall if the last post that I wrote I knew of the study skill for this week, so if i already told you, disregard this intro…. if not, well then, we’re going to use substitution.  Within 3 Nephi 26 there aren’t a ton of places to use it, but there is one spot that I found really important.

We are taught to liken the scriptures unto ourselves.  And sometimes this is just plain hard to do. With the substitution study skill, it is a whole lot easier.  At the commencement of this chapter we’re going to use it through the first two verses…. so for me it would read: “And now it came to pass that when Jesus had told these things he expounded them unto you, Samantha; and he did expound all things unto you,Samantha, both great and small.  And he saith: These scriptures, which ye, Samantha, had not with you, the Father commanded that I should give unto you, Samantha; for it was wisdom in him that they should be given unto future generations.”

Wow!  The scriptures are for me.  Read that again.  Insert your own name.  The scriptures are for you too.  Jesus Christ said so himself.

As this chapter continues we learn that not even 1/100 of what Christ taught the people in his resurrected stated could be written.  Some of his teachings were not written in order to test our faith, and some was not written because it was too precious to be recorded and forbidden by the Lord.

I found some interesting verbiage in verse 13, but since I’m not sure that I understand it completely, I don’t want to get into it here as I don’t want to be saying something that is incorrect.  But I am going to ask a my question for some better insight later this week when I have the chance…. I can’t wait to share it here on my blog if my thoughts are going the right direction.

Back to the chapter.  Mormon continues his writing and only writes what he is commanded to.  The chapter closes with the apostles that were previously chosen teaching, ministering and baptizing those that believed on Jesus Christ and His teachings.

I leave this with you in the name of our Redeemer, Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

