Moroni

Moroni 7

This is the last chapter for study this week.  Next week, there are only three chapters.  If you have been following along with me since the beginning of last term…. pat yourself on the back you only have four more chapters and you have read the entire Book of Mormon!

As this chapter begins, Moroni tells us that he is going to write the words of his father Mormon.  While you focus on this chapter, please remember the state that Moroni is in.  He has been by himself, hiding from the Lamanites that want to kill him for 36 years.  He is carrying with him the plates that he has translated and here we find out that he has also been carrying with him letters from his father.  Moroni is truly an amazing scribe and prophet of the Lord.

I think that as I go through this chapter, I am just going to go ahead and quote the glimmers of light for me.  I am feeling a bit run down at the moment and could use a little pick-me-up,  and I am sure that Mormon has just the right words for me.

Verse 5 “For I remember the word of God which saith by their works ye shall know them; for if their works be good, then they are good also.”

Verse 8 “For behold, if a man being evil giveth a gift, he doeth it grudgingly; wherefore it is counted unto him the same as if he had retained the gift; wherefore he is counted evil before God.”  While that doesn’t sound like a pick-me-up, it really is if you are giving with sincerity.

Verse 12 “All things which are good cometh of God”

Verse 13 “every thing which inviteth and enticeth to do good, and to love God, and to serve him, is inspired of God.”

Verse 16 “the Spirit of Chirt is given to every man…. and to persuade to believe in Christ”

Verse 19 “ye should search diligently in the light of Christ that ye may know good from evil; and if will lay hold upon every good thing, and condemn it not, ye certainly will be a child of Christ.”

Verse 25 “by faith, they did lay hold upon every good thing”

Verse 26 “Whatsoever thing ye shall ask the Father in my name, which is good, in faith believing that ye shall receive, behold, it shall be done unto you.”

Verse 29-32 tells us the job of angels…. now that’s some pretty cool stuff!

Verse 33 “And Christ hath said: If ye will have faith in me ye shall have power to do whatsoever thing is expedient in me”

Verse 37 “it is by faith that miracles are wrought; and it is by faith that angels appear and minister unto men”

Verse 42-43 “if a man have faith he must needs have hope; for without faith there cannot be any hope.  And again, behold I say unto you that he cannot have faith and hope, save he shall be meek, and lowly of heart.”

Verse 47 “Charity is the pure love of Christ, and it endureth forever; and whoso is found possessed of it at the last day, it shall be well with him.”

There are some principles to ponder until next week.  Mormon was a grand prophet and full of wise words to be written knowing that we would need them in the last days.  I know that I am truly thankful that he chose to write these words.  As I have read them today, I have been filled with joy and my heart is full of love and I feel as if I am on the pathway to His kingdom.

In the holy name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

