FAML300, The Eternal Family

Week 3: Threats to Marriage: Defender of Marriage

I wrote a discussion board post earlier a couple of days ago for my class, and I want to share it with you in its entirety.  I want each of you readers to know, that without any doubt in my mind that you are a child of God.  The topic for this week is same-sex marriage and with that, I will stand in defense of traditional marriage, because that is what I believe God planned for each of His children.  He has also given us agency, and each of us get to choose for ourselves everything from what pair of socks to wear today to whom to marry and even if we will accept that Jesus is the Christ.  Agency is part of the Plan of Salvation and as such, I respect the fact that we can each exercise it according to our own decisions. Here is my discussion board post:

“It took a lot for me to get through the reading material this week.  With 14 credits, three children in the house, dogs, chickens, and a husband … 100+ pages of reading material for one course in a week makes for a challenging week for me.  But I did it!  I finally escaped and went to get a pedicure and during that fabulous 90 minutes with no children, I got through the rest of the Supreme Court ruling and all of Chief Justice Roberts‘ dissent.

This morning (it’s Tuesday) my mom called.  As I read somewhere as a reminder this photobooth_0533week that we have to keep the human element in mind… my mother lives with her same-sex partner and lives in a state that same-sex marriage was allowed prior to the Supreme Court ruling.

I am always very mindful of topics such as same-sex marriage and I have once walked out (maybe stormed out) of a Sunday School class in which the teacher was insisting that we treat those that live homosexual lives as second class citizens.  I have not, nor will I ever. “A person is a person no matter how small” is my favorite Dr. Seuss quote.  I learned this when I was small, and I have practiced it my entire life.  Unless our Prophet stands up and tells me that is what God wants, then I’m not ever going to treat another human as if they are of lesser value in the eye of God than I am.  I am a sinner, my mother is a sinner, and so is each person reading this.  We should not judge one another because we sin differently than our neighbor.

With that rant, I had a great conversation with my mom today.  We talked at length about Moroni 60the Constitution.  We talked about my belief (which she already knew) that leading a homosexual lifestyle isn’t acceptable in the eyes of God.  We talked about what liberties we are given by the Constitution of the United States.  We talked about the snow that has fallen in the Portland Metro Area.  We talked as mother and daughter talk, we each learned some.  I taught my mom about what liberty means, as intended by our Founding Fathers, and she taught me that even though she lives a homosexual life, she isn’t sure that the Supreme Court had the authority to make same-sex marriage a constitutional right.  She believes as I do, that this right belongs to the people as intended by the founders of this nation.

Samantha”

I truly believe that marriage is intended by God to be between a man and a woman.  This is how we create families biologically – which was his intent from Adam and Eve down to Samantha and Aaron.  We read in The Family: A Proclamation to the World issued by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints on September 23, 1995 that “The family is ordained of God.  Marriage between man and woman is essential to His eternal plan. ”  This is fundamental.

As I was reading other classmates discussion board posts, I read in one that marriage is second to family as a foundational unit of society.  I would like to address that here, as I did when I replied to her post.  Please, feel free to write me back and post here what your thoughts are….  If we were building a house and we put family down first (as suggested by data collected by society) and then we stood marriage on top of that, what was this family founded upon?  The sand, I say.

On the other hand, if you have a marriage that is solid and then you create a family, you have built your house upon a rock.  A church magazine article written by Adam C. Olson titled Built on the Rock can remind us really what it means to build upon the rock of our salvation, Jesus Christ.  Take a minute to read the story and have a little reminder of how truly important it is that we live by the precepts taught by our Savior and through his word by way of the leaders of His church today.

“Whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.” –D & C 1:38

Remember that we all sin differently, and never forget the golden rule.

In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

