3 Nephi 16

Okay, this chapter and one more on visualization.  Let’s get them kicked out here so that we can move on to list making, which I am really looking forward to, because I like lists.  I may even love lists, but that’s neither here nor there, right?

Have you ever been a lost sheep?  Have you ever known a lost sheep?  Do you know your neighbor?  Is he or she an active member of the church that they belong to, even if it’s different from your own?  Does the lady down the street walking her dogs know who Jesus Christ is?  I do not have all the answers for everyone, but I do know that I have been lost, that I know many that are lost, not all of my neighbors go to church regularly and no, not everyone knows Jesus Christ.

Here in 3 Nephi 16, Jesus says unto the Nephite people that there are others in different lands that he has yet to go to and Heavenly Father has commanded Christ to go and see them so that they too can be numbered among His fold.

Place yourself here:  Jesus Christ in his gentle and strong voice is standing in front of you and he says “I command you that ye shall write these sayings after I am gone, that if it so be that my people at Jerusalem, they who have seen me and been with me in my ministry, do not ask the Father in my name, that they may receive a knowledge of you by the Holy Ghost, and also of the other tribes whom they know not of, that these sayings which ye shall write shall be kept and shall be manifested unto the Gentiles, that through the fulness of the Gentiles, the remnant of their seed, who shall be scattered forth upon the face of the earth because of their unbelief, may be brought in, or may be brought to a knowledge of me, their Redeemer.  And then will I gather them in from the four quarters of the earth; and then will I fulfill the covenant which the Father had made unto all the people of the house of Israel.” (3 Nephi 16:4-5)  This fills my heart with joy and (maybe I’m a bit weepy today) my eyes with tears.  Can you see yourself standing there?  He is commanding you to write down what he has to say and He is telling you that there are others and that not everyone knows of him, but in the fullness of times, all shall know.

This chapter continues to explain the plan that Jesus Christ has among the Jews and the Gentiles to bring to pass the fulness of the gospel and to ensure that all are offered the possibility of returning to Heavenly Father.  Verse 20 closes the chapter out with this: “and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of God.”  Isn’t that glorious?   All the ends of the earth.  Why do we worry ourselves so here in this estate, He will take care of it all.

I leave this for you to ponder.  In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

 

Published by Samantha Smith

Mother of 5. Wife. Boutique owner (Ruby Raine's). Co-owner of Electrical Contracting company (RASI Electric, LLC), writer, crocheter, baker, and candlestick maker(not really). Family & Human Services Major @BYUI.

Leave a comment